Authentic Yoga - Tantric Perspective

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube

Meditation in Bhagavad Gita

25 January 2014 YogiVishwaSpiritualVedantaYoga

< Sanatana Dharma and Hinduism
Yogic Eating Guidelines >

The Bhagavad Gita helps those in trouble. In the Gita there is a conflict. Arjuna is unable to take a decision and to resolve this, he turns to Krishna and listens to him. It is important to realize that Arjuna is not just listening to Krishna, but that he is in a state of meditation. Arjuna benefits and quietens his mind to achieve clarity not just through the discourse of Krishna but from his immediate presence. To begin meditation we need to first look for the presence of Krishna in some form. Even the reading of the Bhagavad Gita must be in the spirit of turning to Krishna for his advice. The reader must see himself as Arjuna, in trouble and seeking help from Krishna. Then the reading will be meditation.

Yamunacharya has highlighted four areas of meditation in the Bhagavad Gita.

The first is in relation to Svadharama, what one must do, how it must be done and what should be the attitude to this action. Whenever there is a doubt or conflict in relation to one's action and the accompanying attitude, meditation on svadharma will give clarity and tell us what is right.

The second area of meditation is Jnana. The Gita speaks of three things one should know: cit- that which is conscious, acit- that which is not conscious and Isvara- the higher force.

Whenever there is a doubt about what we should be moving towards or a conflict as a result of the pull in a particular direction, meditation on jnana will make clear the right path or direction.

The third area of meditation is Vairagya. This word occurs often in the Gita and stands for that which should be forsaken and that which should never be forsaken. That which helps one, must stay and that which disturbs, should be left behind.

In the Gita there are three fundamental reasons for a person being disturbed.

The first is the pull of temptations, raga or kama. The second is the dominance of the rajo guna in the person resulting in krodha and the accompanying clouding of the mind. The third reason is the attitude of aham, the power of the "I". The person is concerned only about himself to the total exclusion of all things else. When this disturbance begins, meditation on Vairagya will help quieten the person by making clear that which is necessary and good for one's development and that which is not.

And then there is fourth area of meditation, that is Bhakti. This, in the Gita, is to trust Krishna and do everything as a service to a higher force. This idea occurs in the Gita right form the beginning and most emphatically from the third chapter. Bhakti is not worship in a room in front of a picture of God but is an attitude where we see and acknowledge the power of the higher force in all things. This is the highest level of meditation as everything the person sees or does, brings his mind back to the higher force that is responsible for all things. When we are insecure or helpless, bhakti- the recognition of our limitations and the turning to a higher force, will offer a solution.

Source: T.K.V. Desikachar

Tags :Meditation  Bhagavad Gita  

Comments (0)

Add Comment

IP:      Country: FI

Save Comment
Please verify your human identity.

About Vishwa Yoga
VishwaYoga Logo Vishwa Vishwa Kumar
WhatsApp: +1 678-310-9580
Experienced Yoga Teacher (E-RYT)
Advanced Tantra Educator (ACTE)
Continuing Education Provider (YACEP)

More about : Vishwa  *  Yoga  *  FAQ

Spiritual (14)
Tantra (16)
Vedanta (11)
Yoga (29)

Asana  Bandha  Bhagavad Gita  Dharana  Dhyana  Hatha Yoga  Info  Kriya  Meditation  Mudra  Osho  Practice  Pranayama  Samadhi  Sri Sri  Tantra  Veda  Vivekananda  Yoga Sutra  Yoga Vasistha  
An unhandled error has occurred. Reload 🗙